## **AMALGAMATED TRANSIT UNION LOCAL 1505**

401 - 275 BROADWAY WINNIPEG MANITOBA R3C 4M6

TELEPHONE 204-943-5064

FAX 204-943-5078

July 8, 2022

The Honourable Heather Stefanson Premier of Manitoba

Dear Premier Stefanson,

We are encouraged by the announcement of the \$529 million investment in our Winnipeg Transit system and by the collaboration made by all three levels of government as part of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program.

However, we must acknowledge the persisting operational and infrastructure funding deficit in the Winnipeg Public Transit system. The deficits in funding affect our ability to retain workers and provide adequate service delivery to our citizens, considering population growth and the rising cost of living.

The operational funding deficit caused by the freezing of the 50/50 funding for Transit operations at the 2016 level has resulted in the City's inability to increase service and also retain operators and maintenance workers as they are leaving to pursue better opportunities elsewhere – we are currently down 150 operators. The expansion of the fleet will require more drivers, which we must retain to provide service to our citizens.

The city's population has outgrown the current infrastructure, which is not fully equipped to respond to the increased demand for Public Transportation. More citizens are relying on Public Transit due to the high costs of fuel, the rising cost of living, loss of personal vehicles, and the easing of pandemic restrictions. The citizens of Winnipeg need a Transit system that works so they can work – investment in Public Transit is an investment in the economy.

We implore you, therefore, that the province provides operational and infrastructure funding to meet the needs of a growing population and increased demands for an efficient, reliable, and safe Public Transportation system.

Respectfully yours,

Romeo Ignacio President, Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1505

## Cc:

Mayor Brian Bowman, City of Winnipeg
Wab Kinew, Leader of the Official Opposition, NDP
Matt Wiebe, Critic for Municipal Relations
Cindy Gilroy, City Councillor for Daniel McIntyre Ward
Sherri Rollins, City Councillor for Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry Ward
John Orlikow, City Councillor for River Heights-Fort Garry Ward
Scott Gillingham, City Councillor for St. James Ward

Kevin Klein, City Councillor for Charleswood – Tuxedo
Janice Lukes, City Councillor for Waverley West Ward
Ross Eadie, City Councillor for Mynarski Ward
Devi Sharma, City Councillor for Old Kildonan Ward
Vivian Santos, City Councillor for Point Douglas Ward
Jason Schreyer, City Councillor for Elmwood-East Kildonan Ward
Jeff Browaty, City Councillor for North Kildonan Ward
Shawn Nason, City Councillor for Transcona Ward
Matt Allard, City Councillor for St. Boniface Ward
Markus Chambers, City Councillor for St. Norbert – Seine River Ward
Brian Mayes, City Councillor for St. Vital Ward